Skip to content ↓

Riverview CofE Primary & Nursery School

Riverview exists to cherish, challenge and inspire adults and children within a Christian community


The Governing Body of Riverview C of E  Primary School & Nursery  2018/2019

The key roles of the governing body are:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff

  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

    In order to carry out our role efficiently and effectively, the detailed work of the governing body is undertaken by four committees and an Advisory Board for the Children’s Centre.  In addition to attending full governors’ meetings, all governors sit on at least one of these committees which report back to termly meetings of the full governing body, at which broader issues are also discussed and agreed.

    Curriculum committee

    Considers and makes recommendations about all issues associated with the successful organisation of the curriculum, including teaching and learning, monitoring and assessing pupil progress, reporting to parents and examination results.

    Personnel committee

    Considers annual review of pay policy, recruitment, other personnel issues and safeguarding arrangements.

    Finance, Buildings and Premises committee

    Considers and makes recommendations about all budgetary issues for the school and Children’s Centre including setting & monitoring the budget.  Also responsible for overseeing the school ‘Governors' Fund’.  Oversees buildings and

    Community committee

    Develops links between the school, parents/carers and the wider community, including our church, our neighbours and statutory authorities.  The committee also manages development of the Children’s Centre and extended services to the community.

    Children’s Centre Advisory Board

    The purpose of the Advisory Board is to work with partners to help and advise those responsible for running the Children’s Centre, ensure that the Centre is clear about the views of parents, and play an active role in driving improvement.

    How to contact us:  If you have any feedback you would like to give the governing body or have any questions regarding the strategic direction of the school please contact the Chair or Vice Chair of Governors via email: or by telephone 020 8337 1245.

    Our School governors are:


Term ends

Governor Status



Special Responsibilities

Mercy Atkins

Not applicable

Head Teacher - Governor ex officio


Finance, Buildings & Premises



Children’s Centre Advisory Board

Head Teacher

Emergency Contact

Key Holder

Elaine Letchford

31st August 2022

Foundation Governor

Chair of Governors



Finance, Buildings & Premises

Children Centre Advisory Board

Emergency Contact

Confederation Epsom & Ewell Partnership Representative

Academy Governor

Key Holder

Nick Barber

26th June 2019

Parent Governor

Vice Chair

Finance, Buildings & Premises


Hon. Treasurer

Disadvantaged Children


Academy Governor

Sheila Lemon

26th March 2022

Foundation Governor


Children’s Centre Advisory Board


Vivienne Aitchison

5th October 2021

Foundation Governor



Pay Committee

Special Needs

Looked After (LAC)


David Senneck

2nd May 2021

Foundation Governor

Finance, Buildings & Premises



Geoff Bowyer

17th April 2020

Foundation Governor



Early Years

Sports Premium

Valerie Bradfield 9th July 2021






Philip Cairns

3rd June 2022

LEA Governor


Pay Committee


Jo Sander

26th September 2022

Staff Governor


Finance, Buildings & Premises

Link /Training Governor

School Business Manager

Tracey Robbins

6th March 2020

Associate Member

Children’s Centre Advisory Board


Children’s Centre Manager

Vacancy   Ex-Officio  


Vacancy   Parent     


Foundation Governors are appointed by the Diocesan Board of Education (3) and the Parochial Church Council of the Parish of St. Francis of Assisi, Ewell (3).  One additional Foundation Governor is ex-officio.

Parent Governors are elected by other parents at the school

The Staff Governor is elected by other members of staff at the school.

The Local Authority Governor is nominated by the local authority,  appointed by the Governing Body.

The head teacher is a Governor ex-officio

Associate members do not have voting rights on the full governing body, but may vote in committees.

Each term of office is for four years.

Additional Information.

The Deputy Head, Lynn Sales, also sits on the Curriculum Committee and are invited to all Governing Body meetings.  The Head Teacher is an ex-officio member of the Personnel, Finance Buildings and Premises, Curriculum and Community Committees.

Our meeting dates

  • Monday 12th November 2018 5pm (FGB)
  • Monday 4th March 2019 5pm (FGB)
  • Monday 17th June 2019 5pm (FGB)

All meetings start at 5.00pm in the school.  Anyone wishing to attend must give two weeks notice to the school office (

Register of Interests

From 1 September 2015 governing bodies will be under a duty to publish on the website their register of interests.